, ,

Federal Trade Commission Issues Warning Letters to Instagram Celebs

FTC warns celebs and influencers to make it clear when a social media post is sponsored

Advertisements

The Federal Trade Commission has recently sent out over 90 letters to celebrities and social media influencers in an attempt to remind them they need to clearly state when a sponsored social media post has been paid for.

Additionally, letters were sent to the stars’ agents as well as brands they were promoting, including Chanel, Adidas, Johnson & Johnson, and more.

Monday morning, a list of numerous celebs and influencers who received these letters was released. The list contained the names of the brands they were promoting as well.

The letter reads, “The FTC’s Endorsement Guides state that if there is a ‘material connection’ between the endorser and the marketer of a product — in other words, a connection that might affect the weight or credibility that consumers give the endorsement — that connection should be clearly and conspicuously disclosed, unless the connection is already clear from the context of the communication containing the endorsement. Material connections could consist of a business or family relationship, monetary payment, or the provision of free products to the endorser.”

“If you write about how much you like something you bought on your own and you’re not being rewarded, you don’t have to worry,” the letter clarified.

20 of the most well-known stars that received a letter include:

  • Sean Combs

#lostfiles

A post shared by DIDDY (@diddy) on

  • Luke Bryan

Tomorrow. #KillTheLightsTour #sponsor

A post shared by Luke Bryan Official (@lukebryan) on

  • Naomi Campbell

  • Sofia Vergara

  • Heidi Klum

Balm-like lipstick: my lips love it! @AstorCosmetics #SpringColors #LongLasting #MatteLipstick

A post shared by Heidi Klum (@heidiklum) on

  • Vanessa Hudgens

When your makeup artist loves glitter just as much as you do #brucewayne (he doesn't have an Instagram 🙄)

A post shared by Vanessa Hudgens (@vanessahudgens) on

  • Lindsay Lohan

Abu Dhabi with a beautiful sea of friends and family

A post shared by Lindsay Lohan (@lindsaylohan) on

  • Kourtney Kardashian

A L O H A 🌺

A post shared by Kourtney Kardashian (@kourtneykardash) on

  • Sophia Bush

  • Akon

Winning is a mindset 😉

Advertisements

A post shared by Akon Official (@akon) on

  • Jennifer Lopez

Ok @chrisappleton1 @scottbarnes68 #RandM #anotherdayattheoffice

A post shared by Jennifer Lopez (@jlo) on

  • Farrah Abraham

@people love you💖 #wetv #familybootcamp @wetv

A post shared by Farrah Abraham (@farrah__abraham) on

  • Jamie Lynn Spears

  • JWoww

  • Victoria Beckham

Fun day in the lab with @esteelauder, watch this space! X VB #VBxEsteeLauder #FashionStoleMySmile

A post shared by Victoria Beckham (@victoriabeckham) on

  • Chelsea Houska

  • Amber Rose

@fashionnova Use code "XOtori" #movingbrixx #MUVAmanagement #NOVAambassador #ad

A post shared by Amber Rose (@amberrose) on

  • Zendaya

DxZ SPRING LINE FIRST ROLL OUT AVAILABLE ONLINE OR ON MY APP NOW🌹❤️ @dayabyzendaya

A post shared by Zendaya (@zendaya) on

  • Kristin Cavallari

One week until the launch of @uncommonjames !!!!

A post shared by Kristin Cavallari (@kristincavallari) on

  • Ciara

Truly A Balancing Game In These #Gucci Stacks & This Big Belly! ☺️

A post shared by Ciara (@ciara) on


Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Advertisements

People Can’t Believe This Power Tumbler’s Incredible Skills

Ballerina Michaela DePrince Has Finally Learned to Accept her Skin Condition